NOTICE: Zoom Link to attend the meeting virtually is available on the website at <u>https://calendar.strongtownship.com/meetings</u>.

Council Members Present (in person): Mayor Tim Bryson. Councillors Jeff McLaren, Kevin Noaik, Jim Ronholm, Marianne Stickland.

Guests present (in person): Katey Brimacombe, Brian McCabe, Kim Seguin, Grace Noaik, Melinda Kent

Guests present (virtually): Justine Leveque, Barb Belrose

Staff present (in person): Kim Dunnett, Deputy Clerk

1.0 Meeting Declared Open at 5:30 PM by Deputy Clerk Kim Dunnett O'Canada was played

2.0 Declaration of Office pursuant to Municipal Act, 2001 c.25, S.232(1)

2.1 Mayor – Tim Bryson 2.2 Councillor - Jeff McLaren

Kevin Noaik Jim Ronholm Marianne Stickland

Brief recess for photos and refreshments.

3.0 Pecuniary Interest Declared

None

4.0 Adoption of Agenda

Moved by: Marianne Stickland

R2022-405

Seconded by: Jeff McLaren

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong approve the November 22, 2022 meeting agenda, as amended.

Add item: 6.9 Public Works Ad Hoc Committee [R] **Carried**

5.0 Delegation

None

6.0 Comments/Communications/Correspondence

6.1 Message from Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs & Housing Received

- 6.2 Message from Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM) Received
- 6.3 James Chirico, Medical Officer of Health, NBPSD Health Unit Member Appointment for Board of Health 2022-2026 Southeast Area
 6.3.1 Nomination Received: Township of Ryerson
 R2022-406

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support the appointment of Beverly Abbott to represent the Township of Strong and the Southeast Area on the North Bay Parry Sound District Board of Health.

Defeated

R2022-407

Moved By: Jim RonholmSeconded by: Jeff McLarenBe it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby supportthe appointment of Marianne Stickland to represent the Township ofStrong and the Southeast Area on the North Bay Parry Sound DistrictBoard of Health.

Carried

6.4 Dave Thompson, Director of Emergency & Protective Services – Member Appointment PSDEMS Advisory Committee 2022-2026 East Area

6.4.1 Nomination Received: Township of Machar R2022-408

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support the appointment of Pearl Ivens to represent the Township of Strong and the East Area on the Parry Sound and District Emergency Medical Service Advisory Committee. **Deferred**

6.5 Eastholme Home for the Aged – Member Appointment to come December R2022-409

Moved By: Jeff McLaren

Seconded by: Kevin Noaik

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support the appointment of Marianne Stickland to represent the Township of Strong and the Area #3 on Eastholme Board of Management. **Carried**

6.6 **District of Parry Sound Municipal Association – Executive Ward** Appointments for 2022-2026

6.6.1 Nomination Received: Township of Machar R2022-410

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Seconded by: Jim Ronholm Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support the appointment of Lynda Carleton to represent the Township of Strong and the Ward #5 on the Executive of the District of Parry Sound Municipal Association.

Defeated

R2022-411

Moved By: Jeff McLaren

Seconded by: Marianne Stickland

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support the appointment of Tim Bryson to represent the Township of Strong and the Ward #5 on the Executive of the District of Parry Sound Municipal Association.

Carried

6.7 Jennifer Harris, Administrative Officer, District of Parry Sound Social Services Administration Board – Member Appointment to Board 2022-2026 Area 5

No nominations received to date. R2022-412

Seconded by: Kevin Noaik

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby support to represent the Township of the nomination of Strong and Area #5 on the District of Parry Sound Social Services Administration Board. Deferred

6.8 Township of Strong 2022-2026 Committee Guide Received

6.9 Public Works Ad Hoc Committee R2022-413

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Seconded by: Jeff McLaren

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby approve the development of a Public Works Ad Hoc Committee; and That the following Elected Officials be appointed:

1. Tim Bryson

2. Jim Ronholm

Alternate: Kevin Noaik

And that a Terms of Reference and meeting schedule be provided to Council for approval.

Carried

7.0 Staff Reports

7.1 Caitlin Haggart, Clerk Administrator – RFP Integrity Commissioner Results

R2022-414Seconded by: Jeff McLarenMoved By: Marianne SticklandSeconded by: Jeff McLarenBe it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong have receivedStaff Report 2022-015 regarding Request for Proposal Results - IntegrityCommissioner Appointment; and

That Council approves the recommendation from the evaluation committee to proceed with ADR Chamber Inc for Integrity Commissioner Services based on the details included in Staff Report 2022-015. **Carried**

8.0 By-Laws

8.1 By-Law 2022-047 Assign Members to Boards/Committees & Appoint Deputy Mayor R2022-415

Moved By: Jeff McLaren

Seconded by: Kevin Noaik

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong have read By-Law 2022-047 being a by-law to assign members to Boards/Committees and appoint Deputy Mayor; and

That Council for the Township of Strong hereby authorize the Mayor and Clerk Administrator to sign this by-law and affix the Seal of the Corporation thereto. **Carried**

8.1.1 Signing Authorities R2022-416

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Seconded by: Jeff McLaren

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby approve bank signing officers for the Corporation to be:

Mayor – Tim Bryson; and/or Councillor – Kevin Noaik; and/or Clerk Administrator – Caitlin Haggart; and/or Treasurer – Dan Truchon; and/or Deputy Treasurer – Tera Minor; and/or Deputy Clerk – Kim Dunnett; and

That all payments shall require two signatures.

Carried

8.1.2 Community Appointments to Various Boards/Committees R2022-417

Moved By: Jeff McLaren Seconded by: Kevin Noaik

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby appoint the following community members to as public representatives to the following committees and Board for the 2022-2026 Term:

Sundridge Strong Joly Recreation Committee:

- 1. Diana Cosby
- 2. Stephen Kissoon
- 3. Katey Brimacombe

Sundridge Strong Union Public Library Board:

- 1. Jean Wanless
- 2. Vicki Whitmell

East Parry Sound Veterinary Service Committee: 1. Jeff McLaren Carried

8.2 By-law 2022-048 Committee of Adjustment 2022-2026 R2022-418

Moved By: Marianne Stickland Seconded by: Jim Ronholm Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong have read By-Law 2022-048 being a by-law to appoint the Committee of Adjustment for the 2022-2026 term: and

That Council for the Township of Strong hereby authorize the Mayor and Clerk Administrator to sign this by-law and affix the Seal of the Corporation thereto. **Carried**

9.0 Adjournment

Moved by: Jeff McLaren

R2022-419

Seconded by: Marianne Stickland

Be it resolved that the Council for the Township of Strong hereby adjourn the regular meeting at 6:44 p.m. until the meeting scheduled on December 13, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.

Carried